La Paz

La Paz is one of the nine departments of Bolivia. It was created through Supreme Decree on January 23rd of 1826. Its capital is La Paz city, which is the political, cultural and financial center of Bolivia.

There are three differentiated geographical areas: The high-plateau, the Sub-Andes and the Amazonas jungle.


  • Capital: Nuestra Señora de La Paz.
  • Population: 2.7 millones (Census 2012).
  • Languages: Spanish, Quechua, and Aymara

Our history in La Paz

In 1978, Food for the Hungry (FH) started working in Bolivia bringing humanitarian help in the La Paz high-plateau, near lake Titikaka.

Current work:

Communities: 15

Sponsored children: 2225 

Families: 3186

Key challenges

Until 2025 one community will graduate.

Support us praying for the new intervention area after closing District 8 in El Alto city.